A Marvelous Thundering

In Job it is written, “God thundereth marvelously with his voice; great things doeth he which we cannot comprehend. For he saith to the snow, Be thou on the earth.” And often when he does so, it’s a joy. The world we live in is far too busy for it’s own good, it washes by without enough reflection. When we get a substantial dump of snow, as we are getting as I write, everything is slowed to a more reasonable and thoughtful pace. Dr. Visscher was forced this morning to say to CRTS, Be thou canceled. According to Hamilton’s CHML 900, they even canceled euchre night at Case United Church in Mount Hope.

There are many wonderful things in life, but somewhere near the front of the line are Friday snow days. Snow days have been somewhat scarce around CRTS for the last number of years it seems, but we’ve had two this semester. The first one was a Monday, which is fine; I’ll take a snow day when I can. But a Friday is a real gift. Yesterday they were saying on the news that this morning would be bad, and some schools canceled today’s classes then and there. So I knew there was a chance we’d have no school, but I got my work done for today anyways. Since freshmen normally have Thursdays off, a Friday snow day means a four-day weekend. So it’s true. Every so often at seminary, you do get lazy days. But seeing as we have a Hebrew test on Monday, and seeing that Hebrew is somewhat lionlike, I may have to do as valiant Benaiah did and slay a lion in a time of snow.

Another thing that I may do this weekend is sharpen up my chapel presentation. I wrote it already during the Christmas break, both because it would be one less thing to think about this semester, and also because it’s an enjoyable thing to do. I chose as my passage Psalm 88, the darkest psalm in the canon, because it’s a tough passage to read and doesn’t digest well. It leaves me with a number of questions, and I hope to offer some answers in my presentation. But that will have to wait until the middle of March, a fact that recently left me somewhat anxious. The other day in sermon session, fourth year Calvin delivered a sermon on Exodus 1. During the critique, Dr. Visscher pointed out that Exodus 1 is not a passage that leaves us with a happy ending. As he was speaking about the potential that such passages have for preachers, I saw him thumbing through his Bible to somewhere in the middle. I knew where he was going, and I was not happy about it. Sure enough he gave a shout-out to Psalm 88, in the context of ‘these are great passages to preach on.’

So the reason I wasn’t happy is the same reason you wouldn’t be happy if you were sitting in a room with a bunch of your pregnant friends, all of which were due before you, and someone were to bring up the baby name that you had in mind. No! you’d shout inside. Thus it was with me. Now I just have to wait patiently, and hope that Dr. Visscher didn’t give anyone any ideas. Because no one feels like having two chapels in one semester on the same passage.

8 thoughts on “A Marvelous Thundering

    • Thanks for the offer. But although it might make things easier, Dr. Visscher doesn’t have a say in which passages we choose for chapel; it’s entirely up to the students. I’d imagine that with the entire Bible to choose from, the odds of two students picking the same passage are pretty slim. I don’t know if it’s happened in the same semester before, so my worries are likely unfounded.

    • Excellent. It’s an interesting passage that forces you to ask some important questions about the place of suffering in the Christian’s life. I hope it leads to some insightful discussion.

Leave a Reply

