Times for Thanksgiving

If you had asked me on my twentieth birthday where I’d be on my thirtieth, I wouldn’t have guessed within a mile of the truth. Or, to be more precise, within 2600 miles. At that time I had just decided to quit going to university in favour of pursuing a career with my band. You wouldn’t have been able to convince me then that in ten years I’d be going to the Canadian Reformed seminary in Hamilton, married to Arenda Schutte, and the father of a wonderful little boy. Which is to say, I couldn’t have imagined the blessed life I’d be living. But I’m thankful, at times, for an impoverished imagination, and here I am today with the fullest life I could hope for.

JeremyBday

As you can see, Arenda got me the book, Art and Beauty in the Middle Ages by Umberto Eco, and a new tin of pipe tobacco. She also strung a band of balloons over our living room window this morning, and her and James blew some kazoos. The tradition at seminary is that on the special day you have to bring some sort of dessert or snack for coffee time, during which everyone sings a robust rendition of ‘Happy Birthday.’ So Arenda and James visited me at school today, and she brought two red, white, and blue cheesecakes for coffee time. There was a general feeling afterwards that my birthday should come about more often.

At lunch time yesterday I sat down with second-year Rick at a table. He had spaghetti, and I had soup. “So how are you doing?” he asked me.
“Fine,” I replied. “Coming off a cold, but otherwise things are good. Not a lot to do this week.”
“That’s good,” he said. “And how’s Arenda doing?”
He asked me in what seemed to me a knowing tone, so I made a quick guess and thought to myself, Ok, Hannah must have found out and told him.
“She’s pretty tired,” I replied.
“Oh, ok.”
“She’s feeling a lot more nauseous this time around. It wasn’t so bad with James.”
I had guessed wrong.
“What?! She’s expecting??”
“Isn’t that what you were asking about?”
“No! I had no idea, but congratulations!”

So Rick knows, and now you do, too, that we are expecting our second child come November. It’ll come at the end of a bit of a CRTS baby boom, with three other couples – that we know about, anyways – expecting children in the fall.

” For He knoweth our frame; He remembereth that we are dust. As for man, his days are as grass; as a flower of the field, so he flourisheth. For the wind passeth over it, and it is gone; and the place thereof shall know it no more. But the mercy of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear Him, and His righteousness unto children’s children; to such as keep His covenant, and to those that remember His commandments to do them.” – Psalm 103

5 thoughts on “Times for Thanksgiving

  1. Congratulations Jeremy and Arenda! Exciting times for you both, we pray the pregnancy goes well and Arenda starts feeling better!

  2. Congrats Jeremy and Arenda! Truly a time for thanksgiving.

    So this passed Sunday in the afternoon a new person in the congregation grabs my shoulder as I walk passed and introduces himself to me. “Ryan Smith…please to meet you!” I respond. “So you are ‘ One Christian Dad,'” he says,”…I am Jeremy’s Dad…”

    I will congratulate your parents as well 😉

  3. Happy 30th Jeremy!! I’m sure with Arenda’s baking abilities the consensus would be just that!
    That story of you telling Rick is hilarious!

  4. Happy Belated Birthday, Jeremy! Also congrats to you and Arenda with your exciting family news!
    Take care…hugs to you, Arenda & James

Leave a Reply

