Once Upon A Sunny Day

A good friend of mine from back in BC, John David Siebenga, is in the process of moving. Somewhere, in some wonderful box, he found an old copy of The Monthly Adventures, a publication put out by our elementary school class. The copy that he found contained what I think is my very first published writing, and for your reading pleasure I have reproduced it here, warts and all.

It’s a work of fiction, and it’s dated May 12, 1993.

WATERSKIING

It was an awesome sunny day. My dad had said that on a day like this, we should go waterskiing. So we begged our dad. Finally after two hours, he said, “yes.” We shouted “yahoo!” and quickly packed up our stuff and left. We got to Cultus lake at 12:45. After a quick lunch, we started. I got to go first, since I was the oldest. I put on my lifejacket and snapped on my skiis. My dad and I tied the rope to the boat. Dad got into the boat and took off. My sister, Heidi, freaked out and fainted as soon as I was in deep water.

Then came the scary part. My dad took the 5th turn but it was a sharp one. I fell sideways and sprained my foot. I started yelling for my dad to stop. He stopped and asked me why he had to stop. “I have a sprained foot.” My dad swam over and put me in the boat. We rode to shore. My dad drove me to the hospital. They stuck a cast on my foot. After that, we drove back to the lake. The two girls didn’t dare to go because I had a sprained foot. That night I asked my mom if she had a good time. She said, “yes.”

By Jeremy de Haan

4 thoughts on “Once Upon A Sunny Day

  1. You used to have a lot of writing skill, Jeremy. Where did it go? Punctuation was a strong point early on for you though.
    Calvin

    • Calvin,

      I went big after that story. But being too famous too soon sent me careening towards the shoulder, if you know what I mean. I’m surprised you have to ask; for a number of years I was all over the tabloids. I’ve laid low for a few years now, and only recently have pulled things together to make another go at a career. But thanks for digging up the past.

  2. What I’d really like to see is your deconstructionist reading of your early publication. What does it mean for you today? I could tell you what it means for me, but I’d hate to influence your own reception of your text 😉

    • William,

      Along the same lines, I wouldn’t want to contaminate some of the pure responses my readers may be experiencing. As they journey through the text and create meaning, they just might encounter some unexpected joys; one of the benefits of reading complex and ambiguous works like this one.

Leave a Reply

