Speaking of Music

On the whole I am inclined – although I am not propounding any irrevocable opinion – to approve the custom of singing in church, that by the pleasure of the ear the weaker minds may be roused to a feeling of devotion. Yet whenever it happens that I am more moved by the singing than by the thing that is sung, I admit that I have grievously sinned, and then I should wish rather not to have heard the singing.

– Augustine, Confessions

I always loved music; whoso has skill in this art, is of a good temperament, fitted for all things. We must teach music in schools; a schoolmaster ought to have skill in music, or I would not regard him; neither should we ordain young men as preachers, unless they have been well exercised in music.

– Martin Luther, Table Talk

One thought on “Speaking of Music

  1. “…neither should we ordain young men as preachers, unless they have been well exercised in music”

    Interesting.

    Music was a big thing in the church I grew up in. So big in fact that it seemed that a man had to play an instrument and be able to sing in order to be ordained. I had no idea Luther was a Charismatic! Joking! 😉

Leave a Reply

