I Was Left to My Own Devices

My boss is away for the week, and he left me in command of the company’s lawn assault flagship. I’ve made the most of it, doing full truck and trailer lawn jobs at the local schools, chasing seniors with the zero-turn, and aggressively tailgating the MTO on the 403. I’ve managed to cut some grass, too, and the ship and I even made the Burlington run in less than twelve parsecs.

Anyways, as part of an ongoing re-education of my musical sensibilities I’ve spent most of my driving time listening to the classical programs on CBC Radio 2. I heard some trivia today that has nothing to do with classical music, but does vaguely fit with the poorly enforced theme of this blog. So I thought I’d put the question to you, to gauge the acuity of your cultural awareness. No googling or anything, and the only prize is a swelling of pride in your breast:

Assuming that Solomon wrote the bulk of the OT wisdom literature, for which 1960’s pop song did he write the lyrics?

10 thoughts on “I Was Left to My Own Devices

  1. The historian in me can’t help but point out that the lyrics themselves were actually written by Pete Seeger in the late 50s (inspired of course by the Qoheleth), while the famous pop rendition by the Byrds was from the 60s 😉

  2. You’re right, while I had the Byrds in mind the song was originally from Seeger. But the lyrics were more than inspired by Ecclesiastes, they are almost the exact wording of the KJV. Seeger merely arranged them to fit the tune. Aside from “Turn, Turn, Turn,” and the last line of the song, I’d still maintain that the author of Ecclesiastes was the original lyricist.

  3. If I wanted to be really pedantic, and I do, I’d maintain that the author of Ecclesiastes was the one who provided the substance and the content, but that the lyrics themselves were written by William Tyndale or one of the later translators.

Leave a Reply

